Making Mistakes

“Yes it’s a mistake, I know it is a mistake, but there are certain things in life where you know it is a mistake but you don’t really know it is a mistake because the only way to really know it’s a mistake is to make a mistake and look back and say “yep, that was a mistake.” So, really, the bigger mistake would be to not make the mistake. Because then you go your whole life now really knowing if something is mistake or not. And, damn it, I have no mistakes! I’ve done all of this — my life, my relationship, my career — mistake free. Does any of this make sense to you?” – How I met your mother – Season 1 – episode Milk.

It plays the key role in your success. It is not the money you ravish, it is not the food you eat and it is not the clothes you wear. It is the mistakes which are the stepping stones on your path to success. If you think that you want to attain your target failure-proof, it isn’t possible. Handling the mistakes, learning from them and moving ahead is the course to achieve your dreams.

One of the very first book which I read was “The Last Lecture” by Randy Pausch. There was that one line which made huge impact in my overall life. It made me work harder and kept me focused. It told me that why achieving success is not a trivial thing, why being passionate is crucial for success, how success tests your calibre, why only few people get to reach at the top level and where does one fall back on the path of their dreams. I took the printout of the lines and posted on my graduate school’s hostel room wall. Here it goes:

“The brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out. The brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want something. Because the brick walls are there to stop the people who don’t want it badly enough. They’re there to stop the other people.”  ― Randy Pausch, The Last Lecture

To perform extraordinarily well we have to give ourselves a permission to commit mistakes. My first ever seminar was an utter failure, my first conversation with any girl was a failure, driving car for the first time was a failure, and speaking grammatically correct English was a failure and many more of my first attempts.  But for me they were not failure at all, rather I failed when I feared not to drive at all, I failed when I didn’t try to speak English and I failed at that very moment when I couldn’t raise my hand to give a seminar. But as soon as I rose my hand, I succeeded. As soon as I dared to speak in English I succeeded. No matter whether it was correct or not but giving a shot took me to a path of success. Now I write a blog in English, have won presentation competitions, and as well as drive car perfectly 😉 and many more. For all this the credit goes to all those failed attempts.

One another line which impacted my life largely is: “Do the things you fear and the death of fear is certain”. Every time I feared from anything, I started doing it. In the starting it is tough but by the time it becomes smoother. And one day you excel at it.

If we see around us, there are great people whose whole life had been full of mistakes other than an instance, a single moment where they got the desired result. For example, let us take the case of Thomas Edison and to put it in his own words “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work”.

 

The only real mistake is the one from which we learn nothing.” – Henry Ford

5 thoughts on “Making Mistakes

    1. Yes Slim. Some how there are many people who fear and don’t try at all. They fear failure, reputation, society level and many things. participation is must. I have downloaded the book, I will read it in some free time.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

